Welcome to Spokane County Fire District 8

Spokane County Fire District 8 provides a full range of services that include fire suppression, emergency medical services, fire prevention, education and investigation, and associated support and maintenance services to our 22,351 citizens in a 110 square mile area in south Spokane County.

SCFD8 members responded to 3,227 calls for service in 2019 from the District's four fire stations located in the Moran, Valleyford, Ponderosa, and Saltese areas. Each station is staffed twenty-four hours a day with a combination of career, part-time, volunteer and resident volunteer personnel.

Spokane County Fire District 8 operates under the State of Washington laws and codes governing fire departments by direction of a three-person Board of Fire Commissioners: Andy Rorie; Lee Boling, and Greg Hesse.


Early Season Burn Restrictions are in Place

Effective Friday, April 10 at 12:01 a.m., the Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR), in cooperation with partnering agencies, is implementing restrictions on all outdoor burning. This restriction include all permit and rule burning.

A frontal passage bringing dry conditions and gusty winds over the next couple of days is the reason for this early season burn ban. The dry conditions will mean more potential for fire starts and the strong gusty winds can cause a fire start to grow rapidly.

During the Covid-19 crisis, firefighters and first responders are working hard to stay healthy to ensure their readiness to respond to fires and other emergencies. The public compliance with this temporary burn ban will help them remain healthy and ready to respond to an emergency. 

2020 Spring Newsletter

Welcome Spring! In this edition of the Fire 8 Flyer, Chief Nielsen tells you about our Support Services Volunteers and the very important roles they play in the operations of the Fire District.

Wildfire season is just around the corner and we hope you will find the programs and resources in Neighborhood Wildfire Prevention Requires Knowledge, Resources, Energy, and YOU helpful as you work to make your home and property safe from wildfire.

There are several events listed in this newsletter, however, as a precaution for our community and our members, the Valleyford Yard & Garden Debris Collection Day, scheduled for Saturday, April 4th, and the Stop the Bleed class scheduled for May 16th have been cancelled. SCFD8's Fire Service Day on Saturday May 9th may also be cancelled - please watch for updates.

If you live in one of our rural areas and have not yet requested an address sign, you may do so by sending us this Address Sign Request Form.

Stay Safe!


DNR Fire Danger Rating System

The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has implemented a new fire danger rating system in Washington State. Instead of basing a fire danger rating by county, a Fire Danger Rating Area (FDRA) is based on geographic areas that share similar fuels, climate, and topography, in addition to administrative boundaries.

When you phone DNR's burn hotline ( 1-800-323-BURN) to find out about burn restrictions in your area, you will be asked to enter the first four letters of your county (SPOK), you will then be directed to choose your FDRA. Most of Spokane County Fire District 8 falls within the Foothills RFDA. You can find your specific FDRA by using DNR's Fire Danger and Outdoor Burning risk map https://fortress.wa.gov/dnr/protection/firedanger/.


Let's Keep Them Safe

Effective January 2020 Washington State Car Seat Laws have changed.

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends children remain in each stage of protection for as long as possible.

For more information visit wacarseat.com



The next regular
Board of Fire Commissioners
meeting is scheduled for:

April 14, 2020
6:00 p.m.

This meeting will be conducted electronically:

All persons wishing to observe or participate in the meeting may
do so via Zoom:
Join from a PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone or Android Device at https://zoom.us/j/8893240636
Or, join by phone;
dial by your location:
+1 253 215 8782 US WA
+1 346 248 7799 US
+1 669 900 6833 US
+1 301 715 8592 US
+1 312 626 6799 US
+1 929 205 6099 US

Meeting ID: 889 324 0636

Meeting Agenda/Minutes


Smokey Bear - Only you can prevent wildfires.

Fire Danger / Burn Information

Spokane Clear Air
Current Burning Conditions


Locate your Fire District using SCOUT.

SCFD8 Stations